S.A.F.E. Court

1352690492_Help.png

What is SAFE Court?

Safe Addictions Free Environment

The mission of the Cowlitz County Juvenile Drug Court, also known as SAFE Court, is to reduce delinquency, increase offender accountability and rehabilitate juvenile offenders with substance abuse, chemical dependency and/or co-occurring issues through a comprehensive, coordinated community-based juvenile probation system that ideally involves the entire family dynamic.

The primary goal of SAFE Court is to help strengthen individual and families while protecting the public by identifying youth with substance use or co-occurring issues and helping them connect with appropriate services. SAFE Court operates under a holistic approach in which the SAFE Court team collaborates with the youth, family, and community in order to support the youth in developing skills needed for current and future challenges. This is accomplished through empowering the youth and family with resources, treatment plans, life skills, and knowledge. By the time participant’s graduate, they should be able to identify the characteristics of their substance use and/or addiction, if co-occurring they should also be able to identify the characteristics of their illness, identify indicators and triggers, and utilize the skills afforded them through the program, to work through future challenges.

Program Requirements:

  • Abstain from using drugs and/or alcohol
  • Attend SAFE Court Wednesdays(bi-weekly)
  • Attend drug and alcohol treatment groups each week
  • Attend all individual counseling sessions (treatment, mental health, PO, etc.)
  • Attend community support meetings weekly
  • Attend an educational program or have full time employment
  • Pay all restitution prior to program completion
  • Stay current or in compliance with all laws and rules of probation
  • Report all police contact to probation

SAFE Court Team:

Jade Cassio

SAFE Court Case Aide

577-3100

Ex 6408

cassioj@co.cowlitz.wa.us

Chris Reinerston

Juvenile Department

Probation Counselor

577-3100

ex 8215

reinerstonc@co.cowlitz.wa.us

Simmie Baer

Office of Public Defense

Attorney

578-7430

baers@co.cowlitz.wa.us

Meghan Dunlap

Cowlitz County

Prosecutor

577-3080

dunlapm@co.cowlitz.wa.us

John London

 Mental Health Therapist

577-3100

ex 8206

jcc..lead@co.cowlitz.wa.us

Adam Pithan

Therapeutic Courts Manager

414-5508

 

pithana@co.cowlitz.wa.us

Kim Mitchell

Education Advocate

577-3100

Ex 8281

kim.mitchell@esd112.org

Ursula Jorgenson

Court Clerk

577-3100

Ex 8285

jorgensonu@co.cowlitz.wa.us

Matt McCoy

Cowlitz Tribal Treatment

575-3316

mmccoy.health@cowlitz.org

Derek Burke

Rachael Wallace

Columbia Wellness

Substance Abuse Counselors

360-577-7442

Derek.Burke@columbiawell.org

Rachael.Wallace@columbiawell.org

Kaytie Richards

Educational Advocate

Truancy

 

kaytie.richards@esd112.org


Color Line: SAFE Court youth will be assigned a color at the time of their entry into treatment. They are required to call the color line every day between 6:00AM and 9:00AM. If their color is listed, they must provide at UA to their treatment provider. COLOR LINE 360-414-5508

SAFE Court Forms

 

If you have questions about SAFE Court, contact Chris Reinertson the Probation Counselor or Jade Cassio, program Case Aide.

Chris Reinertson

Fields marked with * are required

Jade Cassio

Fields marked with * are required

 

 

            

 

Print Email

TELEPHONE: (360) 577-3085
FAX (360) 414-5506
TTY (800) 883-6388 OR 7115

HALL OF JUSTICE
312 SW FIRST AVENUE
KELSO, WA 98626
 
Building Hours - 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM